

PRESS RELEASE 05/2020

Berlin, 28 May 2020

Alena Buyx new Chair of the German Ethics Council

The German Ethics Council met for the first time today since its recent re-appointment of council members in Berlin and elected medical ethicist Alena Buyx as its chair.

Newly elected vice-chairs are the lawyer Volker Lipp, the philosopher Julian Nida-Rümelin and the theoretical neuroscientist Susanne Schreiber. 11 of the current 24 members were appointed to the Ethics Council for the first time on 30 April by the President of the German Parliament (Bundestag) Wolfgang Schäuble; the other 13 Council members had already belonged to the Council during the previous term.

In his welcoming address in the morning, the President of the Bundestag Schäuble expressed his appreciation for the Ethics Council. He expressed his appreciation for the Council's work and encouraged it to continue to raise its voice and to carry forward the important ethical debates, especially in these turbulent times. "We need policy advice from the scientific community and an ethically sound debate" said Schäuble, who, on this occasion, received the Ethics Council's Annual Report 2019.

In the further course of the meeting, the Council members discussed the future work programme. Taking up a request of the German Federal Minister of Health, Jens Spahn, the Ethics Council will first deal with the ethical aspects linked to the respective introduction of a proof of immunity for SARS-CoV-2 and will prepare an Ad Hoc Recommendation on this topic, which is to be published before the parliamentary summer break.

The German Ethics Council was established in April 2008 on the basis of the Ethics Council Act (Ethikratgesetz) of July 2007. The Council shall pursue the ethical, social, medical and legal questions and the anticipated consequences for the individual and society that result in connection with research and development, in particular in the field of the life sciences and their application to humanity. Members specifically represent scientific, medical, theological, philosophical, ethical, social, economic and legal concerns. They are to reflect the diversity of public opinion. Members include scientists from the mentioned fields of science; furthermore, the Council is comprised of persons who are particularly familiar with ethical questions of the life sciences.

Further information on the members of the Ethics Council is available at https://www.ethikrat.org/en/members/.

Members

Prof. Dr. med. Alena Buyx (Chair) Prof. Dr. iur. Dr. h. c. Volker Lipp ((Vice-Chair) Prof. Dr. phil. Dr. h. c. Julian Nida-Rümelin (Vice-Chair) Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Susanne Schreiber (Vice-Chair)

Prof. Dr. iur. Steffen Augsberg Regional bishop Dr. theol. Petra Bahr Prof. Dr. theol. Franz-Josef Bormann Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Hans-Ulrich Demuth Prof. Dr. iur. Helmut Frister Prof. Dr. phil. habil. Dr. phil. h. c. lic. phil. Carl Friedrich Gethmann Prof. Dr. theol. Elisabeth Gräb-Schmidt Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. phil. Sigrid Graumann Prof. Dr. med. Wolfram Henn Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Ursula Klingmüller Stephan Kruip Prof. Dr. phil. Dr. h. c. Dipl.-Psych. Andreas Kruse Prof. Dr. theol. Andreas Lob-Hüdepohl Prof. Dr. phil. habil. Annette Riedel Prof. Dr. iur. Stephan Rixen Prof. Dr. iur. Dr. phil. Frauke Rostalski Prof. Dr. theol. Kerstin Schlögl-Flierl Dr. med. Josef Schuster Prof. Dr. phil. Judith Simon Jun.-Prof. Dr. phil. Muna Tatari Press Contact

Ulrike Florian Phone: +49 (0)30/203 70-246 Fax: +49 (0)30/203 70-252 Email: florian@ethikrat.org

Office

Jaegerstrasse 22/23 D-10117 Berlin Phone: +49 (0)30/203 70-242 Fax: +49 (0)30/203 70-252 Email: kontakt@ethikrat.org Website:www.ethikrat.org